Story courtesy Hilltop Speedway Facebook page


Friday night was filled with nonstop racing action as seven different divisions were on the night’s agenda as well as driver’s autograph night, allowing fans of all ages a chance to meet their favorite drivers.

Starting off the night with their first appearance of season were the mini wedges with a field of six, three in each, junior and senior division. In the junior division, Roscoe Grenier would pick up the win. Among the senior wedges, youngsters, Evan Large and Miccah Greiner would battle it out for the lead with Large picking up the win.

Vic Hottinger and Kyle Moore would each pick up a heat race win in the Holmes Tire late model division placing them on the front row for the night’s 25-lap feature event.
With Hottinger setting the pace down the backstretch, the green was out and Kyle Moore would jump to the early lead. However, working his way to second, a familiar face to the winner’s circle was “The Flying Ace” Corey Conley would put the pressure on Moore. As laps dwindled, Conley would work the bumper and side by side with Moore for the lead. Unfortunately, caution would fly with six to go, resulting in Conley taking it pit side early. Once again under green, Moore would retain his top spot. Thus, after fending off stiff competition and leading every lap it was Kyle Moore who would park it in the winner’s circle for the first time of the season. Rounding out the top five was Dave Hornikel, JR Gentry, Brad Mickley and John Wyer.

Jimmy Smith and Bob Page each picked up a heat race win in the modified division. With the field set, the green was out on their 20-lap feature and a three wide battle for the lead between Smith, Page and Jesse Wisecarver ensued. Claiming lap one was Smith, however, pressure was not off as Wisecarver and Page continued to battle the bumper of the leader. Troubles for Smith off of turn two would open the door for Wisecarver to take over the lead and Page, second, with four laps in. Unfortunately, troubles for Page, as he would spin in turn one and two, bringing out the caution and sending him to the tail. Back under green, Wisecarver would again maintain his position out front as Jess Hartman and George Lee battled it out for second. However, troubles for Lee coming to the checker would cost him valuable positions through the field. Nevertheless, holding off competitors to pick up the feature win was “The Outlaw” Jesse Wisecarver followed by Jess Hartman, Jimmy Smith, Robin Duston and Casey Fritz.

In the Bugs-R-Gone truck division, Blake Heyder would pick up the heat race win as well as a second feature win on the season after fending off hard charges by his dad, Rolly Heyder who would finish second. Finishing third Zoe Stafford followed by Dwayne Powell and Logan Duncan.
The Rigz Towing modlite division had a single heat race with the win going to Jimmy Smith. As Smith brought the field to the start of their feature event, he would jump out front early. Meanwhile, the battle for second would ensue between Clint Snyder and Brandon Shaw. Six laps in, Shaw would work his way around Snyder to clinch second. However, after leading every lap, it was “The Toboso Bullet” Jimmy Smith sitting in victory lane once again. Second went to Brandon Shaw, third to Clint Snyder, fourth to Chris Robinson and fifth to Ray Leslie.
A single heat race in the Holmes Pest Control street stocks would go to Bob Daugherty setting him pole position for the feature. With the green out, Daugherty would claim the lead as Rusty Redman and Kevin Potts battled it out for second. Redman in the high line, Potts would work under Redman to take second off turn two with two laps in. Looking in at top spot, Potts battled the bumper of Daugherty ultimately taking the lead on lap ten and picking up the feature win. Second went to Bob Daugherty followed by Rusty Redman, Trae Schonauer and David Potts.

With a $200 bounty on Wes Staley, the Short Track Fire and Rescue mini stocks were set to do battle and end Staley’s win streak. Heat race winners were Jeff Tatro and Gary Hensel. After the redraw, it was Ed Geary who would bring the field to the start of their 12-lap feature event. With the green out, Tatro would work his way from fourth to take the lead with one lap down, leaving Geary to battle Tim Workman for second. Meanwhile, up from his eighth place start position, Staley would work his way up to fourth as a caution came out with six laps down. Once again under green, Tatro would take the top spot as Staley worked the high side around Geary for second off of turn four with nine laps down. However, Geary would battle back putting the pressure on Staley when a caution would come out with a mere two to go. Back under green, it was Jeff Tatro who would hold off a late charge by Staley to pick up his first feature win and claim the bounty. Finishing second was Wes Staley, third Ed Geary, fourth Jordan James and fifth Tim Workman.

Hilltop Speedway
June 1, 2018

Mini Wedges
Jr. Division
Feature Roscoe Greiner, Casey Stillion, Natalie Lint
Sr. Division
Feature Evan Large, Miccah Greiner, Jake Simon

Holmes Tire Late Models
Heat 1 V. Hottinger, R. Mardis, M. Basich, M. Amick, J. Wyer, T. Baker, B. Mickley
Heat 2 K. Moore, C. Conley, D. Hornikel, JR Gentry, S. Prince, B. Wilson, T. Winterringer
Feature Kyle Moore, Dave Hornikel, JR Gentry, Brad Mickley, John Wyer, Mike Basich, Michael Amick, Braxton Wilson, Vic Hottinger, Corey Conley, Thomas Baker, Rick Mardis, Stephen Prince, Travis Winterringer

Heat 1 J. Smith, J. Hartman, G. Lee, V. Mardis, B. Miller, BJ Cannon, C. Fritz
Heat 2 B. Page, J. Wisecarver, R. Duston, M. Lonas Jr., R. Grogg, D. Davis
Feature Jesse Wisecarver, Jess Hartman, Jimmy Smith, Robin Duston, Casey Fritz, George Lee, Michael Lonas Jr., Derek Davis, Bob Page, Vernon Mardis, BJ Cannon, Richard Grogg, Bruce Miller

Bugs-R-Gone Trucks
Heat 1 B. Heyder, D. Powell, R. Heyder, Z. Stafford, L. Duncan, N. Large, D. Reed, J. Gardner
Feature Blake Heyder, Rolly Heyder, Zoe Stafford, Dwayne Powell, Logan Duncan, Nick Large, David Reed, Jerry Gardner

Rigz Towing Modlites
Heat 1 J. Smith, C. Snyder, B. Shaw, C. Dye, J. Preston, C. Robinson, C. Stillion, R. Leslie, J. Large
Feature Jimmy Smith, Brandon Shaw, Clint Snyder, Chris Robinson, Ray Leslie, John Large, Cody Stillion, Jon Preston, Cody Dye

Holmes Pest Control Street Stocks
Heat 1 B. Daugherty, R. Redman, K. Potts, T. Schonauer, D. Potts, P. Holmes
Feature Kevin Potts, Bob Daugherty, Rusty Redman, David Potts, Trae Schonauer, Paul Holmes

Short Track Fire and Rescue Mini Stocks
Heat 1 J. Tatro, E. Geary, J. James, W. Staley, J. James, K. St. John, R. Carder, J. Clark
Heat 2 G. Hensel, B. Parsons, T. Workman, W. Newbury, J. Rust, N. Rhoads, T. Gambill
Feature Jeff Tatro, Wes Staley, Ed Geary, Jordan James, Tim Workman, Wayne Newberry, Billy Parson, Ryan Carder, Jessica James, Kendra St. John, Jeff Rust, Josh Clark, Nathan Rhoads, Gary Hensel, Tyler Gambill