Staff Report


The weekly racer mixing it up with the All Star regular. The big name that invades looking to take the checkered flag. Nine straight nights of sprint car racing across Ohio. It’s what Ohio Sprint Speedweek is all about. The 36th Annual Cometic Gaskets Ohio Sprint Speedweek featuring the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions pushes off Friday night at Attica Raceway Park. The annual event will see some of the best that sprint car racing has to offer as eight different tracks across the Buckeye State will host 9-nights of racing, June 17th through June 23rd.

The All Star Regulars

Heading into Friday night, 130-points separates points leader Aaron Reutzel from the “Buckeye Bullet” Dave Blaney who enters in 6th. Reutzel has two wins on the year and is 22-points in front of Carson Macedo. A pair of Ohio natives sit third and fourth. Chad Kemenah is 3rd, 36-points back while Wooster native Jac Haudenschild is 4th just 42-points behind. Parker Price-Miller is 5th, 94-points behind Reutzel.

The Buckeye State’s Best

Ohio features a lot of talent in sprint car racing. Craig Mintz already has 4 feature Image may contain: outdoorwins at Fremont Speedway in 2018. Mintz also sits 5th in the points at Attica Raceway Park. ARP points leader Byron Reed will also be a threat at the shows he attends. Cole Duncan picked up a win earlier this month at Atomic Speedway. Duncan won the speedweek finale at Atomic Speedway last year. Wayne County Speedway hosts a solid field of sprint cars on a weekly basis. Brad Haudenschild (pictured right) started last year’s speedweek event at WCS on the pole and led early before getting upside down in turn 2. Fremont’s D.J. Foos finished 4th in last year’s feature at Wayne County Speedway while Wooster native Rob Chaney finished 5th.

The Visitors

Ohio Sprint Speedweek always draws drivers from across the country. Some are well known while others are still trying to make a name for themselves. NASCAR stars Kyle Larson and Kasey Kahne finished 1-2 at Wayne County Speedway last year. Larson went on to win the following night at Sharon Speedway.Image may contain: one or more people

Before he was driving for Roush Fenway Racing in NASCAR, a kid from Olive Branch, Mississippi name Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (pictured right) won during Ohio Sprint Speedweek at Attica Raceway Park in 2006.

California youngster Giovanni Scelzi will run Ohio Sprint Speedweek for the first time in his career. Of the eight tracks on the Ohio Sprint Speedweek schedule, Scelzi has already visited two in 2018. He finished 5th at Attica Raceway Park on May 25 with the All Star Circuit of Champions.

“It helps going to a place I’ve been to,” he said. ‘That was one of my favorite tracks I’ve been to. It was really, really slick with two lanes in the feature. You could definitely move around and pass. It’s a really cool place.”

Two days later Scelzi (pictured left) had the same result with the All Star Sprints in the Bob Hampshire Classic at Waynesfield Raceway Park.

“It’s small, but really, really fast,” he said. “It was a great race track. I’m looking forward to going back,” said Scelzi in a release from Inside Line Promotions.

Like Scelzi, fellow California native Rico Abreu plans to run the complete Ohio Sprint Speedweek schedule. Abreu finished on the podium twice during the 2017 Ohio Sprint Speedweek, finishing second at Eldora Speedway and third at Sharon Speedway. Abreu won the Ohio Sprint Speedweek feature event at Wayne County Speedway in 2016.

Tim Shaffer was the man to beat in 2017. Shaffer won at Attica Raceway Park, Eldora Speedway and Waynesfield Raceway Park capturing his 3rd career Ohio Sprint Speedweek title.

Other notables competing during Ohio Sprint Speedweek include Kevin Swindell and Spencer Bayston. Danny Dietrich will make the trip west from Pennsylvania and run shows at Attica Raceway Park on Friday, Eldora Speedway on Saturday, Waynesfield Raceway Park on Sunday, Wayne County Speedway on Monday, Sharon Speedway on Tuesday, Atomic Speedway on Wednesday and Muskingum County Speedway on Thursday.


2018 Cometic Gaskets Ohio Sprint Speedweek Schedule

Friday, June 15 – Attica Raceway Park

Saturday, June 16 – Eldora Speedway

Sunday, June 17 – Waynesfield Raceway Park

Monday, June 18 – Wayne County Speedway

Tuesday, June 19 – Sharon Speedway

Wednesday, June 20 – Atomic Speedway

Thursday, June 21 – Muskingum County Speedway

Friday, June 22 – Limaland Motorsports Park

Saturday, June 23 – Atomic Speedway