By Jay Pees


Conneaut, OH (June 20, 2018) — The 2018 racing season is in full swing after a soggy spring and continues this Friday at Raceway 7 with “Kid’s Uniform Night” and “Driver Appreciation Night”, originally scheduled for June 1st but a victim of the wet spring that claimed three of the scheduled seven events. Several racing-oriented companies will reward drivers for their continued support of the sport they love. Regular racing programs in all five classes will be presented with special awards given out throughout the program. Among companies participating are Close Racing Supply, Bazell Racing Fuels, NAPA Girard, McDonald Connors Racing, Bonnie and Gary Neubauer of Amsoil, and RUSH.

With racing being a family-oriented sport, Raceway 7 values the next generation of fans. To this end all kids in uniforms, Little league, school sports, scouting, or a service organization, will be admitted free.

After four weeks of racing Darrell Bossard leads Breyton Santee, Dave Airgood, Kyle Zimmerman, and Chad Sines in the Evergreen Lake Park Campground RUSH Crate Late Model standings. Bossard led the way opening night and on June 8. In his other two appearances he had a second on May 25 and June 15. Two firsts and two seconds give him a 46 point margin over Santee. Jason Genco scored a win in his only appearance of the season on May 25. Last week Airgood scored his first win of the season.

With three wins, including the two most recent weeks, defending champion Joel Watson leads Gary Eicher in the Bonnell’s Collision Center E-Mod title chase by 26 points. Eicher scored the win in week two, May 25, and has one second and two thirds. Troy Johnson, Percy McDonald, and Casey Bowers fill out the top five.

Paul Schreckengost, with a feature win last week, and Mike Clark, not yet showing a Raceway 7 victory in 2018, are tied for the lead in the Campbell’s Mini Storage Street Stock points over opening night winner Pat Fielding. Fielding is sixteen points out of the lead and has a thirteen point advantage over fourth-running Chris Withers, a former class champion. Jason Fosnaught is fifth 26 markers behind Withers. Curtis Bish also has a win this season.

Eric Reinwald holds an eleven point lead over defending champion Steve Haefke in the Bonnell’s Auto Sales Economod standings. Haefke, in turn, has a sixteen point margin over Matt Alexander. Dustin Demattie is fourth, another 26 points back, with Chuck Steinle Jr fifth, nine points behind Demattie. Reinwald, Josh Ferry, Tyler Frankenberry, and Kyle Miller each have a win this season.

Defending Sunnyside Farm Transit Mini Stock champion Joe Campbell is on top of the standings again in 2018 despite not yet having visited Victory Lane. He holds an eight point lead over Dillon Speer, who scored his first-ever Raceway 7 win on June 8. Last week’s winner, Jim Haefke Jr, is third, another seven points back. Former champion Brad Cole if fourth, only four points behind Haefke with two time 2018 winner Zack Downes fifth, another 34 points down.

Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Route 7 in the town of Monroe Center, OH and races every Friday night May — September. Racing begins at 7:30 PM every Friday. General admission for regular events is $10 and children 7-14 admitted for $5 each. Kids 6 and under are always free. NO PETS are admitted to the track! Fan and pit gates open at 5:30 PM. Pit admission is $25 with minimum age 18. Children under 18 admitted with a “Minor Release” form available at pit gate that must be filled out by a parent accompanying the youth. Raceday information is available at (440) 594-2222. The track maintains a website at