BATAVIA, OH (June 27th, 2018) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series continues their season this weekend with a four-race swing through Ohio. The four events begin a busy July stretch comprised of 13 events fromJune 30th until July 21st.

The Ohio invasion kicks off on Saturday, June 30th at Portsmouth Raceway Park, then continues to Mansfield Motor Speedway on Sunday, Sharon Speedway on Monday, and concludes with the traditional July 3rdevent at Muskingum County Speedway on Tuesday.

The weekend will include four complete programs of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $12,000-to-win main event – setting up an action-packed weekend with over $190,000 in total purse up for grabs.

In 2017, Josh Richards went to Victory Lane at Portsmouth Raceway Park, Mansfield Motor Speedway, and Sharon Speedway. The defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion commented: “It’s always a confidence booster when you go back to tracks where you have had success in the past. I’m definitely looking forward to this next swing. I really enjoy the racing style in the northern region.”

The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will battle some of the toughest local and regional standouts in Ohio. “The competition will certainly be tough, but I feel like we’ve hit on some things lately to make the car better. I’m excited to get back racing,” Richards added.

Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia leads three-time champion, Scott Bloomquist in the battle for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship. Josh Richards is third, followed by four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Bobby Pierce rounds out the top-five in the current championship standings.

Lucas Oil Championship Standings:

1 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA 3600
2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN 3360 -240
2 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV 3305 -295
4 1 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL 3285 -315
5 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL 3280 -320
6 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY 3190 -410
7 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN 3110 -490
8 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN 3065 -535
9 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN 2930 -670
10 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY 2885 -715
11 40B Kyle Bronson ® Brandon, FL 2785 -815
12 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA 2745 -855
13 28 Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL 2740 -860
14 25Z Mason Zeigler ® Chalk Hill, PA 2615 -985

® = Rookie of the Year Contender