BECKLEY, WV — Jun. 27, 2018 — With the 4th annual Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week less than a month away, officials from both the Ultimate Mid-Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series and the Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model Series continue preparations for the biggest and most highly anticipated mini-series in the country for dirt Super Late Models. On the heels of the announcement that the 2018 Series Champion receiving a provisional in the $100,000 to Win 38th annual Dirt Track World Championship for the Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series on October 18-19-20th at Portsmouth Raceway Park (OH), the series runner-up won’t be left out in the cold for his efforts.

The 2018 Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week runner-up in the final points standings will receive a provisional starting position in the prestigious 36th running of the Jim Dunn Midway Speedway LogoMemorial on Saturday, October 6th at Midway Speedway, located southeast of Columbus in Crooksville, OH. The $10,000 to win event, promoted by Gibby’s Dirt Track Nation, honors the legendary Dunn, the winner of the 1981 Dirt Track World Championship, who passed away in 1983 as a result of a crash in Paducah, KY.

“It’s a win-win for both of us. A chance for one of the Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week drivers to get a way in to the prestigious Jim Dunn Memorial and a good way to help promote our race to a sanctioning body. Maybe paving the way for a great working relationship for the future.” Offered Michael Gibson, promoter of the Jim Dunn Memorial and owner of Gibby’s Dirt Track Racing Nation. “Looking forward to working with (Ultimate MOV series director) Robbie (Cyrus), (Fastrak President) Stan (Lester) and the whole gang here at Gibby’s Dirt Track Racing Nation. Working together, I think is the key to success in today’s Motorsports world and that’s the plan for us in the future.” He added.

Current Ultimate MOV points leader, Tyler Carpenter is the defending race winner of the Jim Dunn Memorial and is also a two-time winner of the race (2017 & 2014). His father, Freddie Carpenter won the prestigious event in 2016. Other recent winners include Jared Hawkins (2015), Jackie Boggs (2013) and Zach Dohm (2012). The “Million Dollar Man” Donnie Moran has won the event the most of anyone with six victories including his win in the inaugural race in 1983. His most recent victory came in 2008.

Steve Shaver has won the race three times while Jack Boggs, Davey Johnson, Bart Hartman and Earl Pearson Jr., join T. Carpenter as two-time winner. Ned Lucas, Ben Hess, Freddie Smith, Larry Bond, Mike Balzano, Cortney Clewell, Corey Conley, Rick Auckland and Ray Cook have all won once. The race was not held in 2011 as well as in 1998 and 1984. The Jim Dunn Memorial began in 1983 at the now close St. Clairsville Speedway and has since been to three other tracks including Midway Speedway, which has hosted the race 25 of the 36 events held. Other tracks that have hosted the Jim Dunn Memorial includes; Muskingum County Speedway and Ohio Valley Speedway.

Each of the Buckeye LM Dirt Week events will be co-sanctioned by the Ultimate Mid-Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series and the Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model Series. Both tours combining their efforts will surely bring together the top drivers from the state of Ohio as well as the neighboring states of Kentucky, West Virginia, Indiana, Michigan, Pennsylvania and more.

Parkersburg, WV standout, Tyler Carpenter comes into the 2018 Buckeye LM Dirt Week as the defending series champion after capturing the 2017 title with his third career Buckeye LM Dirt Week victory. That checkered flag came at Atomic Speedway in the 2017 Series Finale on July 29th, 2017. Jackie Boggs is the all-time career wins leader in the series brief three-year history with four victories. Carpenter is second with three as Devin Moran is next with two. Six other drivers, Duane Chamberlain, Jason Jameson, Jeff Babcock, Doug Drown, Brandon Sheppard and Jared Miley have collected at least one victory apiece as there have been 15 total races held over the first three years of the series.

The week kicks off with six consecutive $3,000 to Win features beginning on Wednesday, July 25th with the series’ first ever appearance at Jackson County Speedway in Jackson, OH. Then on Thursday, July 26th a short 40-minute trip west is next as Atomic Speedway in Waverly, OH hosts the series for the fifth all-time event there, the most of any track in tour history. On Friday, July 27th, the series travels even further west by 80 minutes to Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg, OH for the second ever race there before ending the first week on Saturday, July 28th with a 200-mile trip northeast to NAPA Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, OH and the third ever race there at the northern most track on the schedule.

The second week begins on Thursday, August 2nd with the track set to host “to be announced” soon. Then on Friday, August 3rd, it’s onto Brushcreek Motorsports Complex in Peebles, OH for the next to last race and third ever event for the series there. On Saturday, August 4th, it’s a short 45 minutes trip southeast for the Series Finale, paying $5,000 to Win at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, OH in the series first ever race at the southern Ohio facility.

For more information about the 4th annual Buckeye Dirt Late Model Week, go to the series website located at: as well as on all social media networks, including Facebook at “Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week” and on Twitter, via: using the hashtag: #BuckeyeLMDirtWeek

Check out the official website for the Ultimate Mid-Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series at: and continue to follow our social media networks on Facebook at “Ultimate Mid-Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series” and on Twitter at: @MOVSupers

For more information on the Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model Series, visit: Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass is also on Facebook at “Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model Series” as well as on Twitter at: @UBoBluegrass

The ULTIMATE Mid-Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series would like to recognize their marketing partners for the 2018 season which include: American Racer Tires, Hoosier Race Tires, VP Race Fuels, Dave Poske’s Performance Parts, Radical Racegear, MarTel Sign Company, Simpson, Thomas Clarke Performance, Kryptonite Racecars, My Race Pass and Swift Springs.

The ULTIMATE Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model Series would like to recognize their series partners for the 2018 season which include: American Racer, Hoosier Race Tires, VP Race Fuels, a Arizona Sport Shirts,, Simpson, and Thomas Clarke Performance Web Design.