By Carol D Haynes, ISMA PR

Sandusky, OH (July 21, 2018) – After a 2018 season start that was plagued by rain, the International SuperModified Association has now completed its fourth event of the season at Jukasa Speedway July 14. And with a one weekend off to prepare, it’s already time for the traditional visit to the Sandusky Speedway, Ohio, for the annual Hy-Miler Fast Forty and the prestigious Hy-Miler 100, Friday and Saturday July 27 and July 28.

The Hy-Miler 100 is the first of the long distance races of the season, a trio of events that in the 1980s began known as the Triple Crown of Supermodified racing. The term applied to the Hy-Miler 100, the non-winged Oswego Int’l Classic 200 and the Star Speedway Classic 150 (lap count has varied over the years). The best of the best would turn out to try and win all three crowns over the years. Legendary Bentley Warren is the only driver to win all three in one year. Only four other drivers have won the three in their careers – Doug Heveron, Joe Gosek, Mike Ordway Sr. and Dave Shullick Jr., the most recent to join the elite group.

So it’s time once again for the winged supermodifieds to gear up for the two days of fast and furious racing at the Sandusky half mile. There are still a good number of former Hy-Miler winners who are in competition today and who would love to notch another Hy-Miler crown. Chris Perley has 4 Hy-Miler wins to his credit, Joe Gosek 3, Timmy Jedrzejek has 4, Dave Shullick Jr. has a couple. Jon McKennedy and last year’s first time winner, Mike Ordway Jr. certainly could take their second.

Winners to date this ISMA season are Kyle Edwards, who took a win at Delaware, veteran Mark Sammut, who picked up his checkered at Lancaster and Mike Lichty who claimed the inaugural victory at Monadnock. July 14, at the beautiful Jukasa Speedway in Canada, Danny Bowes drove to his first career win in the family-owned 25. Bowes, from Epping, NH, will certainly be riding the wave high coming into the weekend as he also resides at the top of the ISMA point charts. Behind Bowes in the car owner points are Edwards, Lichty, Ordway Jr., Sammut, Trent Stephens (who won the MSS inaugural at Midvale), Timmy Jedrzejek, Michael Muldoon, Mike McVetta, Moe Lilje and the new team of Ben Seitz and Dan Soule.

Along with the New Englanders and New Yorkers who will make the trek to the famed speedway, there are a host of Ohio drivers who have had plenty of laps of experience on the Sandusky oval such as the Stephens brothers, Dave Shullick Jr., who currently is racing at Oswego but with that Port City oval closed Sandusky Hy-Miler weekend, i­s certain to attend, Gary Lehnert, Rich Reid, Jim Paller, who just won an MSS race at Sandusky, and more from the MSS ranks in AJ Lesiecki, Jonathon Lesiecki, Jason Wells, Danny Shirey, with one MSS win to date, Preston Walker, and Randall Walker and more.

Image may contain: text