By Jay Pees

Conneaut, OH (August 29, 2018) — With championships already decided for three classes at Raceway 7, this Friday  all eyes will be on the Bonnell Collision Center E-Mods and the Bonnell Auto Group Economods with tight races still in each division. Along with the fireworks on the track, there will be fireworks overhead as well with a giant display to be set off during intermission! And the best news is that there will be no increase in admission! Regular pricing will prevail!

Darrell Bossard has secured his points title with a stellar season that has included five wins, including opening night, of the eleven events completed. Bossard heads into the final points racing with a 118 point lead over Breyton Santee, who enjoys a 42 point lead over Matt Latta for third. Dave Airgood is fourth, another 28 points back, with defending champion Kyle Zimmerman fifth, 20 points behind Airgood and 208 out of the lead. Santee had a win on July 13 with Latta the winner August 10, Airgood winning June 15, and Zimmerman getting shut out of Victory Lane thus far. Jason Genco, Damian Bidwell, and Max Blair also scored wins over the season.

Troy Johnson has a slim six-point lead over defending champion Gary Eicher in the quest for the Bonnell’s Collision Center E-Mod championship mantle. Johnson has two wins on the season while Eicher has one. Joel Watson has a remarkable six wins and two second place finishes this season in eight attempts and trails Eicher by 42 markers. Two-time former champion Percy McDonald is fourth in the standings, another 109 behind Watson. Mike Kinney, the winner on August 3rd, is fifth, nineteen points behind McDonald. Casey Bowers, currently sixth, scored the win July 6.

Paul Schreckengost is the Campbell’s Mini Storage Street Stock title on the strength of four wins. With the Penn-Ohio event there will be no track points awarded for the class this week. Tim Deutsch, last week’s winner (second in a row), finishes the season second, 88 points out of the lead. Deutsch also won June 29. Mike Clark, the July 27th  winner, is third another 31 points back, with Larry Kugel, winless this season, fourth, another 82 points back. Former champion Chris Withers, also winless this season, filled out the top five, 45 points behind Kugel, but only three points ahead of Garrett Calvert, also winless. Pat Fielding and Curt Bish each have one win this season. Defending champion Jimmy Kennerknecht, currently eleventh in the standing, had disaster strike last week when he rolled several times side for side in his heat race, apparently ending his season. This event will carry the Penn-Ohio sanction and will pay $1000 to win plus be a Penn-Ohio points event! The feature will pay $150 to start.  If more than 35 cars participate a $300 to win “B” feature will be added.

Eric Reinwald holds a 32 point lead in the Bonnell’s Auto Group Economod standings over defending champion Steve Haefke. Both Haefke and Reinwald have two wins this season. Matt Alexander, who won his first-ever feature last Friday, is third, 27 points to the rear of Haefke with Dustin DeMattia another 133 points back in fourth, only four points ahead of Chuck Steinle Jr. Neither DeMattia nor Steinle have visited Victory Lane this season. Eric Wilson has two wins in ’18. Josh Ferry, Tyler Frankenberry, Kyle Miller, and Bud Watson also have feature wins this summer.

As noted earlier, Dillon Speer clinched the Sunnyside Farm Transit Mini Stock Championship last week with his fourth win of the year. Defending champion Joe Campbell, with one win on July 6, is second, only 14 points ahead of Jim Haefke Jr, the winner June 15. Four time winner Zach Downes is fourth 63 points behind Haefke, and Justin Bailey fifth, another thirty behind Downes.

The final night of the 2018 season will be Saturday, September 15 for the “September Shootout”, featuring the Super Late Models in their only appearance of the season battling for a $5000 winner’s purse! Three additional sponsors have stepped forward to increase the Super Late Model and E-Mod purses, The Home Tavern, The Bolt Place, and Marc Hoegerl. The Bonnell’s Collision Center E-Mods will Race for $2000 to win, the Bonnell’s Auto Group Economods for $700, and the Sunnyside Farm Transit Mini Stocks for $350.

Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Route 7 in the town of Monroe Center, OH and races every Friday night May — September. Racing begins at 7:30 PM every Friday. General admission for regular events is $10 and children 7-14 admitted for $5 each. Kids 6 and under are always free. NO PETS are admitted to the track! Fan and pit gates open at 5:30 PM. Pit admission is $25 with minimum age 18. Children under 18 admitted with a “Minor Release” form available at pit gate that must be filled out by a parent accompanying the youth. Raceday information is available at (440) 594-2222. The track maintains a website at