Staff Report

Lorain County Speedway Under New Ownership

It was announced November 2 that Kevin Mileti had taken ownership of Lorain County Speedway. Plans for the 2019 season include modifieds, crate sprints, street stocks and front wheel drive cars. Todd Bachman and Jim Blagg will join Mileti’s team at Lorain County Speedway. Bachman was announced as track operations manager with Blagg named race director. Rules were announced Saturday as were new start times for 2019. Gates will open at 3:00 p.m., hot laps will begin at 4:00 p.m. with racing starting at 6:00 p.m. Click here for a link to the rules.

Sandusky Introducing New Class

Youngsters interested in racing will have a new opportunity at Sandusky Speedway in 2019. The track has announced plans for a new division (Beginners Stocks) for ages 11 to 18. The division was announced earlier this month and rules can be found here.

Tifft Eliminated From Xfinity Playoffs

Hinckley native Matt Tifft failed to advance in the NASCAR Xfinity Series playoffs. Tifft started 10th and finished 3rd in Saturday’s race at ISM Raceway, though that wasn’t enough to advance to the Championship 4. Cole Custer, Christopher Bell, Daniel Hemric and Tyler Reddick are the four drivers that will race for the Xfinity Series Championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Raceway 7 To Host Lucas Oil Late Models

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will visit Raceway 7 for the first time in series history. Paying $12,000 to-win, the Great Lakes 50 will pay tribute to the 50th Anniversary of the 7/16 clay oval in Monroe Center, Ohio.

Ohio dates for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series in 2019:

March 15  Buckeye Spring 50                  Atomic Speedway

April 12  Steel Valley 50                         Sharon Speedway

July 3                                                            Muskingum County Speedway

July 4  Independence 50                    Portsmouth Raceway Park

July 6  Freedom 50                              Mansfield Motor Speedway

August 22  Dirt Million Duels                   Mansfield Motor Speedway

August 23  Dirt Million Duels                   Mansfield Motor Speedway

August 24  Dirt Million                              Mansfield Motor Speedway

August 31  Bob Miller Memorial             Portsmouth Raceway Park

October 4  Great Lakes 50                         Raceway 7

October 18  39th Annual DTWC                  Portsmouth Raceway Park

October 19  39th Annual DTWC                  Portsmouth Raceway Park