For Immediate Release

Bryan Hulbert – TULSA, Okla. (January 2, 2019) With 42 of a scheduled 275 events in the books, the 34th Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout got underway Wednesday night with Outlaw Non-Wing and Restricted taking to the Tulsa Expo Raceway clay.

The 42 Heat Race winners made the trip to Tulsa from 11 states with Oklahoma drivers taking 17 wins. Indiana followed with six, then California with four, Texas with three, with Pennsylvania and Alabama each taking a pair of wins. Colorado, Nebraska, North Carolina, and Washington drivers also earned Heat Race wins.

During the opening night, five drivers were disqualified after testing for illegal fuel. After further review, an error in the test was found and those disqualifications have been overturned.

Speaking with Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout Director, Matt Ward, he stated, “The rules need to be enforced, but they also need to be enforced accurately. We found an error in the test and had to fine tune it. We never want to take anything away from anyone based on a mistake. We are human, it happens, but we can also fix it. Our apologies to the drivers who were wrongfully disqualified. Once we figured out the issue, we didn’t have any problems from there on.”

The 34th Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout opens at 8:00 A.M. on Thursday, January 3 with racing at the River Spirit Expo Center going green at 9:00 A.M. (CT) with 107 events on the day’s lineup. Live PPV coverage is provided online at for those who cannot make the trip. The 34th Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout runs through Saturday, January 5, 2019.

The Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout takes place at the Tulsa Expo Raceway, located inside the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Okla. All official rules, event information, and dates are online at Get updates on Facebook as well as Twitter (@TulsaShootout).