by Brian Deitz

Nine straight days of racing starts tonight as the 37th annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek commences at Attica Raceway Park. The nine day tour that will hit eight different tracks and visit all parts of Ohio, has an $11,000 point fund spread through the top-ten in the final Speedweek standings. Each night the winner will take home a minimum of $5,000, with the finale at Wayne County Speedway set to pay $10,000 to-win.

Ohio Sprint Speedweek brings out the best in sprint car racing. Regulars from the individual Ohio speedplants get to mix it up with the regulars from the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions, along with some of the big guns that make appearances throughout the event.

Current Attica Fremont Championship Series points leader Buddy Kofoid will run every night of Ohio Sprint Speedweek. Weekly regulars at Attica Raceway Park, Fremont Speedway and Wayne County Speedway are always a threat to grab a win.

Aaron Reutzel enters tonight’s Ohio Sprint Speedweek opener at Attica Raceway Park atop the All Star driver standings, leading Spencer Bayston by 52 points. Reutzel already has two wins in The Buckeye State this year, winning at Attica Raceway Park on May 24 and at Fremont Speedway on May 26. Greg Wilson sits in a tie for 7th in the 2019 driver standings and is a former Speedweek champion (2015).

NASCAR stars Kyle Larson and Christopher Bell will run multiple races. Larson will take part in the first six nights of Ohio Sprint Speedweek starting with tonight’s Attica Raceway Park opener. Larson has six Ohio Sprint Speedweek wins since 2016.

Bell will also run six events, joining Sprint Speedweek on Monday at Wayne County Speedway. Bell will pilot the Swindell SpeedLab machine.

“Our team has raced most of these tracks in Ohio and I think Bell has been to most so we feel comfortable rolling into each race track,” said team co-owner Kevin Swindell. “I think if we can put a decent qualifying lap down each night that will put us in a good position. And if we’re in the ballpark we have a chance to win.”

Giovanni Scelzi will miss the opener but run the remaining eight races. Rico Abreu will run every night.

“Missing the first race eliminates us from the points so we’ll just be racing for wins,” Scelzi said. “I like all the tracks I’ve been to in Ohio. They are all places where you can race.”

Unfortunately it looks like Mother Nature could have an impact. Eldora Speedway announced Thursday night that they have flexed their schedule for Saturday, moving the event forward two hours due to weather. Check with each track for complete event details including times and ticket prices.

For fans who can’t make it to the track, Speed Shift TV, the official online broadcast partner of the All Star Circuit of Champions in 2019, will broadcast eight of the nine events on the 2019 Speedweek schedule.

37th Annual Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek Schedule:

Friday at Attica Raceway Park

Saturday at Eldora Speedway

Sunday at Muskingum County Speedway

Monday, June 17 at Wayne County Speedway

Tuesday, June 18 at Sharon Speedway

Wednesday, June 19 at Atomic Speedway

Thursday, June 20 at Mansfield Motor Speedway

Friday, June 21 at Limaland Motorsports Park

Saturday, June 22 at Wayne County Speedway