Story credit Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio (October 18, 2019) – Chris Ferguson and Shane Clanton will make up the front row for Saturday night’s 39th Annual RhinoAg Dirt Track World Championship – Presented by Optima Batteries at Portsmouth Raceway Park. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt series-sanctioned event drew 66 entries for preliminary events on Friday night of the $100,000-to-win event.

Ferguson will start on the pole after earning the most combined points from qualifying and heat races in Group A. Ferguson will be seeking his first career crown jewel event win on Saturday. Clanton accumulated the most points from qualifying and heat races in Group B to earn the outside of the front row in tomorrow night’s season-ending event for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

The top-eight in combined qualifying and heat race results from both Group A and from Group B are locked in to the DTWC with each group sending a total of 16 cars to the starting grid. Starting behind Ferguson will be the two-time and defending DTWC winner, Josh Richards. Richards is looking to become the first driver in history to win the crown jewel event three consecutive times and will start third on Saturday night.

Behind Ferguson and Richards will be two-time DTWC winner Brandon Sheppard, 2019 LOLMDS National Champion Jonathan Davenport, 2019 LOLMDS Rookie-of-the-Year Tyler Erb, Shanon Buckingham, Scott James and Jason Covert.

Clanton earned the outside of the front row with a stirring run in his heat race from fifth to first. Mike Marlar will start behind Clanton with 2012 DTWC winner Jimmy Owens, Tim McCreadie, Bobby Pierce, Dennis Erb Jr., Kyle Bronson and Hudson O’Neal, who earned the 16th starting spot and final spot for the locked in cars.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, October 18th, 2019
Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, Ohio

Miller Welders Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Chris Ferguson / 14.658 seconds (overall)
Fast Time Group B: Jimmy Owens / 14.727 seconds

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (15 Laps): Scott James , Chris Ferguson, Shanon Buckingham, Gregg Satterlee, Stormy Scott, Jackie Boggs, Zack Dohm, Billy Moyer, Jr., Jon Hodgkiss, Allen Murray, Logan Roberson-DNS

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (15 Laps): Jonathan Davenport, Tyler Erb ®, Brandon Sheppard, Ricky Weiss, Brandon Overton, Drake Troutman, Steve Casebolt , Mike Benedum, Kevin Wagner, Justin Rattliff, Blake Naylor

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (15 Laps): Scott Bloomquist, Josh Richards, Jason Covert, Chase Junghans, RJ Conley, Dale McDowell, Mason Zeigler, Nick Hoffman, Rick Eckert, Lee Logan, Robert Starett

Lucas Oil Products Penetrating Oil Heat Race #4 Finish (15 Laps): Don O’Neal, Mike Marlar, Hudson O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Jacob Hawkins, Eric Wells, Jared Hawkins, Ricky Thornton Jr., Colton Flinner, Josh Hall, Eric Webber

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #5 Finish (15 Laps): Shane Clanton, Devin Moran ®, Chub Frank, Dennis Erb, Jr., Delmas Conley, Kody Evans, Shannon Thornsberry, Austin Rettig, JT Conley, Brandon Fouts, Earl Pearson, Jr.

Lucas Oil Products Penetrating Oil Heat Race #6 Finish (15 Laps): Bobby Pierce, Kyle Bronson, Tim McCreadie, Tyler Carpenter, Doug Drown, Jason Jameson ®, Rod Conley, Boom Briggs, Kirk Phillips, Dave Hornikel, Charlie Jude

Lucas Oil Products Red “N” Tacky Spray Grease
B-Main Line Up (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Stormy Scott 2s 0 Scott Bloomquist
Chase Junghans 18J 18m Dale McDowell
Ricky Weiss 7w 71c RJ Conley
Mike Benedum 8b 17d Zack Dohm
Brandon Overton 2 22 Gregg Satterlee
Jackie Boggs 4b 21 Billy Moyer Jr.
Drake Troutman 7T 16 Justin Rattliff
Nick Hoffman 2h 0e Rick Eckert
Kevin Wagner 33k 2m Allen Murray
Jon Hodgkiss 69 11L Leon Logan
Steve Casebolt c9 25z Mason Zeigler
Blake Naylor 91s 32A Robert Starett
Logan Roberson 17    

FAST Shafts
B-Main Line Up (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Jacob Hawkins 8h 5 Don O’Neal
Devin Moran 1M 28c Tyler Carpenter
Chubb Frank 1* 11h Jared Hawkins
Jason Jameson 12J 1 Earl Pearson Jr.
Brandon Fouts 81 18e Eric Wells
Kody Evans 4G 99b Boom Briggs
Dave Hornikel 71h 17T Shannon Thornsberry
Ricky Thornton Jr. 20RT 71D Delmas Conley
Doug Drown 12D 71R Rod Conley
Kirk Phillips 21K 94 Austin Rettig
Colton Flinner 48 26 Josh Hall
JT Conley 71J 23 Eric Webber
Charlie Jude CJ1    

Lucas Oil Feature Line Up (100 Laps):

Chris Ferguson 22F 25 Shane Clanton
Josh Richards 14 O1 Mike Marlar
Brandon Sheppard 1s 20 Jimmy Owens
Jonathan Davenport 49 39 Tim McCreadie
Tyler Erb 1T 32p Bobby Pierce
Shanon Buckingham 50 28 Dennis Erb Jr.
Scott James 83 40b Kyle Bronson
Jason Covert 72c 71 Hudson O’Neal
B-MAIN 1 1st 1st B-MAIN 2
B-MAIN 1 2nd 2nd B-MAIN 2
B-MAIN 1 3rd 3rd B-MAIN 2
LOLMDS Provisional     LOLMDS Provisional
LOLMDS Emerg Prov     LOLMDS Emerg Prov