Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, May 30, 2020

By Mike Swanger

The racing season finally started Saturday night at Wayne County Speedway with the McKenzie Concrete Super Stocks and the JoyRide Transport Mini Stocks with the Super Stocks winner getting a $1,000 to win thanks to McKenzie Concrete and the Mini Stocks getting and increase to their purse thanks to Pine Tree Towing & Recovery, who is the title sponsor of the Sprints at WCS. John Wilson would grab the point from his outside front row starting position of the McKenzie Concrete Super Stock feature and would lead the first six laps when 8th starting Bob Daugherty would take over. Wilson would reclaim the top spot on lap 12. Behind the front runners was a good race for third as Brandon Morrow and Gary Hensel Jr. would go back and forth for that spot. The field would never get to far apart due to several cautions and Daugherty, driving the Mansfield based R.C Kuhn, Smith Fabrications, Accu Force Shocks #21d  would retake the lead for good on lap 17 as Wilson finished second. Morrow would take home third as Chase Alexander, who started 23rd, powered past Hensel Jr. on the last lap for fourth and pick up the Hutch Xtreme Race Photos Hard Charger award. Daugherty, Michael Amick and Jordan James won the heats and Don Baney collected the Hard Luck award from Swanger Sports.

The start of the JoyRide Transport Mini Stock main would see Jolene Voshel and Wooster’s Doug Hensel bring the field to the green flag with Hensel taking the lead and he would lead all the way but he had no room to make a mistake as Cory Staley, Colton St. John and Dustin Bedlion were all on Hensel’s bumper. Those three would change spots on every lap but could not get by Hensel and would finish in that order with Dakota Graciani filling out the top five. The race was red flagged on lap six when Steven Lester took a tumble in turn four that earned him the Swanger Sports Hard Charger award. Heat winners were Wes Staley, Hensel and Cory Staley. Mitch Reichard moved up 13 positions to collect the Hutch Xtreme Race Photos and Highline Motorsports Hard Charger award. This was the 1st race of the Kirsch Properties ‘Summer Series’ for the Mini Stocks.

A decision will be made early this week on the next racing action at Wayne County Speedway.


Saturday, May 30, 2020


Heat   1   Cory Staley, Dakota Graciani, Dustin Bedlion, Anthony Collins, Steven Lester, Randy Gibson, Daniel Spayde, Mitch Reichard

Heat   2   Doug Hensel, Jolene Voshel, John Louis, Johnny Bruce Sr, David Keagy, Stephen Crowe, Jordan James

Heat   3   Wes Staley, Colton St. John, Travis Hutton, Dylan Tanner, Coree Boyd, Zach Myers, Clayton Evans

Feature   Doug Hensel, Cory Staley, Colton St. John, Dustin Bedlion, Dakota Graciani, Jolene Voshel, Anthony Collins, Johnny Bruce Sr., Mitch Reichard, Daniel Spayde, Coree Boyd, David Keagy, Zach Myers, Randy Gibson, Dylan Tanner, Travis Hutton, Wes Staley, Jordan James, John Louis, Steven Lester, Clayton Evans dns, Stephen Crowe dns


Heat   1   Bob Daugherty, Don Baney, Mark Baier, James Alleman, Jimmy Humphrey, Paul McVicker, Kevin Ake, Tony Prestier

Heat   2   Michael Amick, Gary Hensel Jr., Shawn Valenti, Mike McElravy, Luke Sprouse, Virgil Masters, Curt Zimmerman, Don Rutt dns

Heat   3   Jordan James, Brandon Morrow, John Wilson, Dave Uhler, Tyler Wiles, Justin Lorentz, Todd Gallion, Chase Alexander

Feature   Bob Daugherty, John Wilson, Brandon Morrow, Chase Alexander, Gary Hensel Jr., Mark Baier, Jimmy Humphrey, Luke Sprouse, Tyler Wiles, James Alleman, Mike McElravy, Kevin Ake, Paul McVicker, Justin Lorentz, Dave Uhler, Don Baney, Curt Zimmerman, Shawn Valenti, Todd Gallion, Michael Amick, Jordan James, Virgil Masters, Tony Prestier, Don Rutt dns