By: Mark Hoegerl

Conneaut, OH (June 26,2020)


After beating some early rain drops, and getting through the evenings events in record time, five new drivers took victories, to mark the second week of the 2020 racing campaign. In the first feature of the night, Matt Alexander took honors in the Economod feature, Garrett Krummert won his first ever Raceway 7 feature, in the first appearance of the RUSH Modifieds, Mike Kinney continued his 2019 championship ways by scoring the victory in the E-Mods, Miss Jessica Harvey was victorious in the Mini-Stock main, and Joe Stajnrajh claimed his first ever Street Stock victory.

Brandon Ritchy and Rob Kristyak would bring down the 17 car starting field, in the RUSH Modifieds 20 lap event. Kristyak would get the jump as the green waved, to only have the races first of five cautions fly, as the Jacob Jordan, Kole Holden, and Ayden Cipriani would come together between turns one and two. On the second restart, Kristyak would once again get the jump, as you could almost throw a blanket over positions third through six, as Kristyak and eight starting Garrett Crummert would enagage in a race long battle, as the race reached the mid point. Krummert would make his winning move using the inside lane, coming out of turn two, on lap sixteen, to cruise to his first ever Raceway 7 victory. Kristyak secured second, Chas Wolbert came home third, Brandon Ritchy placed forth, and Kyle Martell rounded out the top.

Mike Kinney, showed he hasen’t lost a step from his 2019 E-Mods championship run, by winning his first main event, of 2020. Josh McDonald and Eric Reinwald would lead down the nineteen car field to start the E-Mod A-Main. McDonald would take a comfortable lead at the outset, until the first caution waved on lap two, as Brent Rhebergen, Scott Stiffler, and Chuck Steinle Jr. came together in turn four. Stiffler was the only car that wouldn’t continue. McDonald would once again take control as the green waved, as Randy Hall, Eric Reinwald, and Joel Watson would mix it up behind him in their bid to the front. McDonald would hold on to the lead, until McKinney would take control coming out of turn two, on lap eight, to go on two claim the narrow victory over past champion, Randy Hall. Joel Watson ended up third, Josh McDonald held on to fourth, and Brent Rhebergen after coming from the tail twice, after being involved in two early race incidents, brought home fifth.

Billy Cunningham, and 2000 E-Mod Champion, Bill Watson would bring the nineteen car Economod feature to green. Watson, would lead the field through a series of lap two cautions. On the restart, Watson would take a slim advantage over fifth starting, Matt Alexander. Watson, would hold the lead until Alexander would take command on lap four. While in front, Dustin Demattia, Justin Chaddock, Bill Watson, and Nate Yoiung had a fierce battle going on for second through fifth. Alexander weathered a few late race cautions and Demattia to hold on to a 0.340 victory, to secure his first win of 2020. Chaddock rode home third, Nate Young fourth, and Watson rounded out the top five.

In the 12 lap Mini-Stock main event. Mike Barr along with Pat Hanion would bring the 24 car Mini-Stock field to green. Hanion would take the lead on lap one, until a caution would come out for debris. On the lap one restart, the red would wave for a multi-car pile up, involving, Kevin Watson, Brad Cole, Mark Lawrence, Chris Bugielski, and Tristan Start. During the red flag situation, race leader, Pat Hanion would fall from the event giving the lead over to, Waterfords, Jessica Harvey. Jessica Harvey would hold off many valiant attempts by Dalton Speer. Speer tried a series of outside moves in the last couple laps, but couldn’t muster enough challenge to get around the calm and cool Harvey. Speer, Mike Barr, Alan Susa, and Brad Cole would round out the top.

In the 15 lap Street Stock feature, Pat Fielding and Joe Stajnrajh would bring the field to green. Fielding would get the jump and lead the first two laps, until Stajnrajh would get a run on the high side coming out of turn four for the lead on lap three. While Stajnrajh built up a comfortable lead, last weeks winner, Paul Davis was picking off the field towards his bid to the front. Sixth starting, Davis would pull even a few times after a lap ten caution, but Stajnrajh would engineer enough distance in the remaining four laps to go on to win his first ever, Raceway 7 Street Stock victory. Davis, Fielding, Curt Bish Jr. and Jamie Duncan rounded out the top five.