Story credit: Hilltop Speedway Facebook page

Fans ready to kick off their holiday weekend with some family, friendly, fun headed to Hilltop Speedway on Thursday night to watch their favorite drivers battle it out.

First out for the night, running a feature only, were the Crozier Welding trucks with a field of eight. With the drop of the green, outside pole sitter, Rolly Heyder would take the lead one lap in, Jerry Gardner to follow. Meanwhile, a third-place battle between Travis Hare and Dwayne Powell would ensue. Seven laps down, Hare would work his way around Powell to claim third and set his sights on Gardner. As the laps counted down, Heyder would extend his lead over the field while Hare would charge down the backstretch off two to claim second. However, unable to close the gap on leader Rolly Heyder as the checkered would wave, once again placing him in victory lane. Travis Hare would finish second followed by Jerry Gardner, Dwayne Powell and Evan Large.

Out next were the McKenzie Concrete street stocks with the largest field of the season thus far, eighteen. Kyle Moore and Michael Amick would each pick up a heat race win, placing them on the front row for the night’s feature event. Bringing the field to the green, Moore would jump out front taking the early lead followed by Amick and David Potts. Unfortunately, troubles for Moore, as caution would come out, ending his night early. Back under green, after several cautions, Amick would get the jump on Potts and take the lead with eight laps in. However, caution would again fly, bunching the field up once more. With the green out, Amick would attempt to defend his position, however, Potts, relentless in his pursuit would take the lead with eleven laps down. After a final caution, with four to go. David Potts would retain his position at the front of the field to pick up the feature win. Second went to Michael Amick, third Kevin Potts, fourth Seth Dickerson and fifth Brandon Craver.

Continuing to have a large turnout each week are the Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer modlites with a field of twenty-four. Jimmy Smith, Braxton Wilson, and John Large would each pick up a heat race win as Ty Myers would pick up the last chance win. After a rough start to their feature, the green was out, and Smith would take the early lead, Wilson and Darrick Hubbard Jr. rounding out the top three. Caution, once again four laps down, would single the field back up to the green. Smith, claiming the top spot, as Joe Burkhead would work his way around Hubbard to claim third. Another restart, six laps in, Wilson would be challenged by Burkhead who would claim second off turn four, seven laps down. Nevertheless, after leading every lap and putting a straight away between himself and the rest of the field, it was “The Toboso Bullet” Jimmy Smith picking up the feature win followed by Burkhead, Wilson, Hubbard Jr. and Ray Leslie.

Setting fast time among seventeen Bugs-R-Gone modifieds was Nathon Loney with a time of 15.794 who would also claim heat race one. Kyle Moore would pick up the second heat race. With the field set, the green was out with Moore claiming the lead on lap one. Moore, out front, would work his way through lap traffic with eight laps down. Loney, looking to use the lap traffic to his advantage to close in on Moore. However, Moore was able to pull away, leading every lap green to checker, to park it in victory lane. Rounding out the top five was Loney, Jesse Wisecarver, Chris Basich and DJ Cline.

Rounding out the night’s events were the Short Track Safety Team mini stocks with a twenty-two-car field. Heat race wins went to Colton St. John, Cory Staley, and Billy Parsons. A last chance race win went to Robert Searls. After a top two redraw, the field was set with Jordan James and Colton St. John on the front row. St. John would claim the top spot with one lap in with James on his bumper. Three laps down, caution would come out, setting up a double file restart back to the green. St. John, again taking the top spot as Staley and Parsons battled it out for second. Six laps down, St. John would have nearly a straight away between himself and the field. However, caution would fly with one to go, setting up a green checker finish. Double file to the start, St. John and Staley, would go side by side, down the backstretch and off turn four. Edging out to pick up the win was Colton St. John followed by Cory Staley, Bill Parsons, Kevin Markey and Darrin Thornsley.

Hilltop Speedway

July 2, 2020

Crozier Welding Trucks

Feature- Rolly Heyder, Travis Hare, Jerry Gardner, Dwayne Powell, Evan Large, Darek Cordia, Chad Squires DNS- Logan Duncan

McKenzie Concrete Street Stocks

Heat 1- K. Moore, T. Schonauer, S. Reichart, T. Wiles, D. Rutt, J. Lanham, D. Shear, K. Michall, K. Ake

Heat 2- M. Amick, D. Potts, B. Craver, K. Potts, T. Nicely, S. Dickerson, M. Baier, M. McElravy, C. Alexander

Feature- David Potts, Michael Amick, Kevin Potts, Seth Dickerson, Brandon Craver, Don Rutt, Denny Shear, Tyler Wiles, Scott Reichart, Kevin Ake, Kyle Michall, Mike McElravy, Trae Schonauer, Tyler Nicely, Chase Alexander, Mark Baier, Kyle Moore, Jeff Lanham

Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer Repair Modlites

Heat 1- J. Smith, D. Hubbard Jr., T. McLoughlin, R. Leslie, R. Bollinger, C. Duncil, J. Duncil, C. Dye

Heat 2- B. Wilson, D. Mayer, J. Isenhart, J. Pierce, D. Kolanski, C. Hubbard, K. Brooks, N. Large

Heat 3- J. Large, J. Burkhead, J. Preston, R. Robey, T. Callahan, T. Myers, S. Nairn, S. Wince

Consi- T. Myers, C. Duncil, J. Duncil, C. Dye, S. Wince, S. Nairn, N. Large DNS- C. Hubbard, K. Brooks

Feature- Jimmy Smith, J. Burkhead, Braxton Wilson, Darrick Hubbard Jr., Ray Leslie, Tanner McLoughlin, Jon Preston, Ty Myers, Darrell Mayer, Justin Pierce, Tim Callahan, Reece Bollinger, Cameron Duncil, Jason Duncil, Jacob Isenhart, Dustin Kolanski, Cody Dye, Ryan Robey, John Large

Bugs-R-Gone Modifieds

Fast Qualifier- Nathon Loney 15.794

Heat 1- N. Loney, J. Wisecarver, Dj Cline, G. Lee, B. Paige, B. Moskey, R. Grogg, B. Jacobs, S. Smith

Heat 2- K. Moore, C. Basich, R. Duston, S. Peltz, R. Ledger, M. Gardiner, D. Daugherty, P. Hess

Feature- Kyle Moore, Nathon Loney, Jesse Wisecarver, Chris Basich, DJ Cline, Robin Duston, George Lee, Scott Peltz, Mark Gardiner, Robbie Ledger, Bob Moskey, Dustin Daugherty, Bob Paige, Richard Grogg, Paul Hess, Barry Jacobs, Scott Smith

Short Track Safety Team Mini Stocks

Heat 1- C. St. John, K. Markey, D. Thornsley, J. St. John, M. Severt, R. Carter, D. Jones, K. Koch

Heat 2- C. Staley, J. James, E. Geary, D. Bedlion, N. Martin, C. Boyd, T. Rose

Heat 3- B. Parsons, T. Hutton, C. Newbury, N. Rhoads, W. Newbury, R. Aronhalt, R. Searls

Consi- R. Searls, R. Carter, T. Rose, C. Boyd, R. Aronhalt DNS- D. Jones, K. Koch

Feature- Colton St. John, Cory Staley, Billy Parsons, Kevin Markey, Darrin Thornsley, Travis Hutton, Cody Newbury, Ed Geary, Ryan Carter, Nathon Rhoads, Jason St. John, Robert Searls, Dustin Bedlion, Jordan James, Tyler Rose, Michael Severt DNS- Nova Martin, Wayne Newbury