Story credit: Hilltop Speedway Facebook page

Against all odds, racing action was underway at the Hilltop Speedway with the Holmes Tire late models, Bugs-R-Gone modifieds, Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer Repair modlites and Short Track Safety Team mini stocks on the night’s program.

First to roll out on the track were the Holmes Tire late models with a field of twelve. Fast qualifier of the night was JR Gentry with a time of 14.296, while Kyle Thomas and Ryan Markham would each pick up a heat race win.

Thomas, setting the pace to the green, would take the early lead followed by Markham and Scott. Two laps down, Corey Conley would work his way around Gentry to claim fourth. Lap after lap in the books, Thomas would extend his lead over the field, placing nearly a straight away between himself and Markham. Meanwhile, Scott and Conley would close in on Markham, ten laps down, making it a three-way battle for second through lap traffic. As the battle heated up, caution would fly bunching the field up single file back to the green. Thomas, would once again retain the lead as Conley looked to the inside of Scott for third, eighteen laps in. Unfortunately, troubles for Thomas as he would make contact with the wall in turn one and two, back to back laps, opening the door for Markham. Coming in on lap twenty-two, Markham would dive in to three, pulling the slider off four to the flag stand, claiming the top spot from Thomas. Issues would continue for Thomas as he would continue to lose positions within the final laps being passed by Scott, Conley, and Gentry. After gaining the lead on lap twenty-two, “Flyin” Ryan Markham would remain out front picking up the first feature of the night. Rounding out the top five was Cody Scott, Corey Conley, JR Gentry, and Kyle Thomas.

Setting fast time among eight Bugs-R-Gone modifieds was Jesse Wisecarver with a time of 16.423, also claiming the only heat race win. With the field set and bounty in place, the green was out with pole sitter, Wisecarver claiming the top spot. Meanwhile, working his way around Robin Duston was Kyle Moore, who would look to keep the bounty in place. Twelve laps down, the leaders would begin work of lap traffic as a three-way battle for third would ensue between Chris Basich, Robin Duston and DJ Cline. Moore looking to use lap traffic to close the gap on Wisecarver would prove unable to do so as it was “The Outlaw” Jesse Wisecarver picking up not only his first feature win of the year but also claiming the $300 Winning Edge Auto Body Bounty, placed on Kyle Moore. Second went to Moore followed by Basich, Cline and Duston.

The Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer Repair modlites had a field of eleven. Jimmy Smith and Braxton Wilson would each pick up a heat race win, placing them on the front row of their 15-lap feature event. With the green out, Smith would lead lap one. However, Wilson was not deterred as he would challenge Smith. Caution, five laps down, would single file the field back to the green where Smith would again take the top spot. Wilson looking to the outside of Smith unable to surpass. Seven laps down, Wilson would continue to challenge the bumper of Smith. Unfortunately, thirteen laps in, Wilson would spin, bringing out the caution and forcing him to restart tail. Back under green, Smith would maintain his position adding another victory to his season. Finishing second was Joe Burkhead, third was Emmett Myers, fourth Tim Callahan and fifth Jon Preston.

Rounding out the night were the Short Track Safety Team mini stocks with a field of ten. A single heat race win would go to Colton St. John. Brining the field to the green, St. John would claim lap one. Meanwhile, late arrival, Billy Parsons, would work his way through the field to second with four laps down. Caution six laps in, would bunch the field back up to the restart. Unfortunately, Parsons would get called for a jump start, having to go back two positions. Back under green, St. John would again claim the top spot, leading every lap to pick up the win. Second went to Ed Geary followed by Travis Hutten, Nathan Rhoads and Travis Gamble.

Hilltop Speedway

July 10, 2020

Holmes Tire Late Models

Fast Qualifier- JR Gentry 14.296

Heat 1- K. Thomas, JR Gentry, C. Conley, M. Basich, M. McGinnis, K. Tish

Heat 2- R. Markham, C. Scott, H. Hall, L. Bellman, D. Giauque, K. Wiser

Feature- Ryan Markham, Cody Scott, Corey Conley, JR Gentry, Kyle Thomas, Larry Bellman, Mike McGinnis, Mike Basich, Keith Tish, David Giauque, Harrison Hall, Kyle Wiser

Bugs-R-Gone Modifieds

Fast Qualifier- Jesse Wisecarver 16.423

Heat 1- J. Wisecarver, R. Duston, K. Moore, C. Basich, J. Hartman, G. Lee, DJ Cline, R. Grogg

Feature- Jesse Wisecarver, Kyle Moore, Chris Basich, DJ Cline, Robin Duston, Jess Hartman, George Lee, Richard Grogg

Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer Modlites

Heat 1- J. Smith, T. Callahan, C. Duncil, J. Duncil, L. Heimberger DNS- R. Bollinger

Heat 2- B. Wilson, J. Burkhead, R. Robey, E. Myers, J. Preston

Feature- Jimmy Smith, Joe Burkhead, Emmett Myers, Tim Callahan, Jon Preston, Braxton Wilson, Ryan Robey, Cameron Duncil, Jason Duncil, Lance Heimberger DNS- Reece Bollinger

Short Track Safety Team Mini Stocks

Heat 1- C. St. John, T. Hutten, E. Geary, N. Rhoads, J. Wheeler, J. Mercer, T. Gamble, K. Dewitt, T. Wilson

Feature- Colton St. John, Ed Geary, Travis Hutten, Nathon Rhoads, Travis Gamble, John Wheeler, Billy Parsons, Tom Wilson, Kaden Dewitt, J Mercer