Brian Deitz ~ Northern Ohio Racing Report

With more than a dozen tracks racing this weekend, Sharon Speedway, Portsmouth Raceway Park and The New Moler Raceway Park will keep the locks on their gates. Mandates from the Ohio Department of Health forced Sharon Speedway to cancel their scheduled show on July 18. Trumbull County had been at a level 3 public emergency, which states very high exposure and spread of COVID-19.  That classification forced the 3/8-mile clay oval to temporarily close. Trumbull County has since moved back to a level 2, though the track has postponed this weekend’s show.

Like Sharon Speedway, Portsmouth Raceway Park will also be silent this weekend. Scioto County is at a level 3 Public Emergency. Portsmouth Raceway Park announced earlier this week that they were closed until further notice and have canceled this year’s Boone Coleman Memorial Gator 50.

The New Moler Raceway Park announced Wednesday that they have closed until further notice. In a statement on the tracks Facebook page, the statewide mandates issued by Governor Mike DeWine were reasons for the closure.

Officials with Must See Racing canceled last weekend’s show scheduled at Lorain Raceway Park. Lorain County sits at a level 3 Public Emergency.

As for the shows that are still scheduled to take place this weekend, the always popular Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals will again be held at Sandusky Speedway. The 43rd annual event starts Thursday with fan appreciation night. Admission is $1, as are hot dogs, pop and beer. Supermodifieds and modifieds will run Friday and Saturday.

Get out there this weekend and support your local short track. Just make sure you do it safely. Schedules subject to change. Check with each track for complete event information.



Attica Raceway Park – AFCS 410 sprints, AFCS 305 sprints & Attica/Oakshade Late Model Series

Hilltop Speedway – Late models, mod lites, modifieds, street stocks & trucks

Sandusky Speedway – ISMA Supermodifieds fast 40 & modifieds

Raceway 7 – 5 divisions



35 Raceway Park – Ohio Valley Legend Car Series, 305 sprints, mod lites, 4-cylinders, modifieds, compacts & sport mods

Barberton Speedway – 6 divisions

Fremont Speedway – AFCS 410 sprints, AFCS 305 sprints & dirt trucks

Good’s Raceway – Jr. sprints, 270 micros, mod lites, mini stocks, mini trucks & Super6 Late Models

Midvale Speedway – Old Timers/Hall of Fame night

Oakshade Raceway – Oakshade/Attica Late Model Challenge Series

Sandusky Speedway – ISMA Supermodifieds 100 laps & modifieds

Shadybowl Speedway – CRA Street Stocks, VCTS & late models

The Painesville Speedway – Mid-season Championship night

Wayne County Speedway – Late models, OVSCA 410 sprints, super stocks & mini stocks