Story credit: Hilltop Speedway Facebook page

With the sun shining and drivers filling the pits in five divisions, fans were in for an exciting night of racing on the Hill.

Starting out the night’s feature events were the Crozier Welding trucks with a field of nine, running a feature only. Pole sitter, Chad Squires, unable to make the race, would place Andy King and Vincent Wagoner on the front row. With the drop of the green Dwyane Powell would work his way through the pack to take the lead on lap one. Four laps down, Rolly Heyder, also starting back in the field, would work his way to fourth before the caution would come out. Back under green, Heyder worked the low line under Wagoner for second, challenging Powell for the lead. Heyder, all over the bumper of Powell, would lose the handle and spin in turn one and two bringing the caution back out with ten to go. Restarting tail, Heyder, would drive his way back to second by lap ten with Powell continuing to lead the field. A final caution, with five to go, would bunch the field back up to the green. Powell, maintaining his position at the front of the pack, would once again be challenged by Heyder. Looking to the inside, Heyder would drag race Powell off turn four to the checkered. However, unable to surpass, as Dwayne Powell would pick up the feature win. Third would go to Blake Heyder, fourth Darek Cordia and fifth David Reed.

Setting fast time, 14.479, and picking up a heat race win among sixteen Holmes Tire late models was Todd Brennan. Heat two would go to Shane McLoughlin. With the field set, the green was out for their 25-lap feature event. Side by side into one, McLoughlin would get the drive off two around Brennan to take the lead on lap one. Dave Hornikel, Corey Conley, Rick Mardis and Brandon Francis would all drive into the top five with four laps down. Back to back cautions, four laps in, would bunch the field back to the green. McLoughlin maintaining the top spot, as the battle for fourth would ensue between Mardis and Francis. Nine laps down, caution would fly once more just as McLoughlin was closing in on lap traffic. Back under green, McLoughlin would put half a straight away between himself and second of Hornikel by lap fourteen. Caution with seven laps to go, would close the gap for Hornikel to challenge McLoughlin for the lead. Unfortunately, for Hornikel, McLoughlin would be unphased by his challenger and go on to distance himself from the field as the laps dwindled. Thus, as the checkered dropped, sitting victory lane it was Shane McLoughlin. Rounding out the top five was Hornikel, Corey Conley, Rick Mardis and Brandon Francis.

The Bugs-R-Gone modifieds had the largest field of the night with twenty-four. Setting fast time was Chris Basich with a 15.585 who would also pick up the win in heat race one. Heat two and three went to Kyle Moore and Jess Hartman. A last chance race win went to Jerry Adkins. With Basich and Moore on the pole, the green was out for their 20-lap feature event. Taking lap one was Moore who would put nearly half a track between himself and the rest of the field with five laps down. With no real challenge for the lead, a three-wide battle for second would ensue between Basich, George Lee and DJ Cline. Caution with five to go would bunch the field single file back to the green where Moore would again take the top spot as Basich and Cline challenged for second. Basich on the outside and Cline looking in. Basich would hold on to second as the checkered dropped with Kyle Moore picking up the win. Fourth went to George Lee and fifth Jess Hartman.

A field of fifteen in the street stock division with two heat wins going to Jeff Lanham and Kyle Moore. After a top three redraw, the field was set, and it was Moore and Rob Stambaugh on the front row. At the drop of the green, Moore would take the lead however Stambaugh a close second. With one and two battling, caution would come out with seven laps in the books, single filing the field back to green. Moore would again take the top spot at the restart. Stambaugh undeterred as he challenged the bumper of Moore lap after lap looking for a line around. As the race neared the final laps, caution would again fly, setting up a green, checker finish. Back under green, Moore would maintain that top spot with Stambaugh only two turns to capitalize. However, unable to do so, as Kyle Moore would go on to pick up the win followed by Stambaugh, Gary Hensel, Brad Hensel and Seth Dickerson.

Rounding out the night’s events were the Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer modlites with a field of twenty-one. Heat race winners were Tracy Fritter, Tanner McLoughlin and Jimmy Smith. A top three redraw after the heats would set the night’s feature with Joe Burkhead and Emmet Myers sitting on the front row. With the drop of the green, Burkhead would lead lap one. As Jimmy Smith worked his way up to second. Five laps down, and back to back cautions, the green was back out and Smith would challenge Burkhead for the lead. Burkhead, trying to fend off his challenger would ultimately succumb to Smith on lap eight. Also, driving his way to the front, Tracy Fritter would work his way around Burkhead to claim second. However, once out front, Smith would maintain his position picking up the feature win. Second went to Tracy Fritter, third Joe Burkhead and fifth Tim Callahan.

Hilltop Speedway

July 24, 2020

Crozier Welding Trucks

Feature- Dwayne Powell, Rolly Heyder, Blake Heyder, Darek Cordia, David Reed, Andy King, Vincent Wagoner, Darrell Taylor

Holmes Tire Late Models

Fast Qualifier- Todd Brennan 14.479

Heat 1- T. Brennan, D. Hornikel, M. Basich, B. Francis, G. Lee, C. Scott, T. Leyda, D. Giauque

Heat 2- S. McLoughlin, C. Conley, R. Mardis, TJ Watson, M. McGinnis, J. Morey, C. Lillibridge, B. Giauque

Feature- Shane McLoughlin, Dave Hornikel, Corey Conley, Rick Mardis, Brandon Francis, George Lee, Cody Scott, TJ Watson, Mike McGinnis, Travis Leyda, David Giauque, Mike Basich, Todd Brennan, Jimmy Morey, Brian Giauque DQ-Cole Lillibridge

Bugs-R-Gone Modifieds

Fast Qualifer- Chris Basich 15.585

Heat 1- C. Basich, R. Duston, G. Lee, E. Sietz, D. Sanchez, J. Adkins, B. Jacobs, J. Whaite

Heat 2- K. Moore, J. Brennan, R. Miller, C. Shaw, R. Grogg, S. Smith, T. Gerthing

Heat 3- J. Hartman, DJ Cline, N. Aronhalt, B. Griffith, A. Seelig, T. Siddle, M. Williams

B-Main-J. Adkins, P. Hess, B. Jacobs, J. Whaite, M. Williams, S. Smith, T. Gerthing, T. Siddle

Feature- Kyle Moore, Chris Basich, DJ Cline, George Lee, Jess Hartman, Evan Sietz, Ron Miller, Colton Shaw, Daniel Sanchez, Bill Griffith, Jerry Adkins, Norm Aronhalt, Jason Brennan, Richard Grogg, Robin Duston, Austin Seelig, Barry Jacobs, Pauly Hess

Street Stocks

Heat 1- J. Lanham, D. Potts, R. Stambaugh, K. Potts, T. Nicely, S. Dickerson, A. Bright, K. Michalo

Heat 2- K. Moore, G. Hensel, J. Lorentz Jr., S. Riechart, M. Baier, S. Jones, B. Hensel

Feature- Kyle Moore, Rob Stambaugh, Gary Hensel, Brad Hensel, Seth Dickerson, Jeff Lanham, David Potts, Mark Baier, Austin Bright, Kevin Potts, Scott Jones, Tyler Nicely, Scott Riechart, Justin Lorentz Jr, DNS-Kyle Michalo

Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer Repair Modlites

Heat 1- T. Fritter, D. Mayer, J. Burkhead, R. Bollinger, J. Snyder, D. Kolanski, S. Baldwin

Heat 2- T. McLoughlin, 45, E. Myers, J. Pierce, J. Duncil, C. Hubbard, L. Heimberger

Heat 3- J. Smith, D. Hubbard Jr., T. Callahan, J. Preston, R. Robey, S. Torrens, C. Snyder

Feature- Jimmy Smith, Tracy Fritter, Joe Burkhead, Tim Callahan, 45, Darrell Mayer, Reece Bollinger, Clint Snyder, Jon Preston, Ryan Robey, Justin Pierce, Seth Torrens, Jordan Snyder, Jason Duncil, Lance Heimberger, Dustin Kolanski, Carson Hubbard, Darrick Hubbard Jr., Emmit Myers, Steve Baldwin, Tanner McLoughlin, Jessica Mardis