For immediate release 7/25/20

DeGraff OH (7/25/20. Shady Bowl Speedway played host to three different classes of race cars Saturday. The CRA Street Stocks competed along with the Vores Compact Touring Series and the Shady Bowl Noble Armor Coating late models.

The Indiana based CRA drivers faced tough competition from the weekly warriors who call Shady Bowl home. Jason Mahaffey led the pack to the green and held the point for the early laps before giving way to Brett Hudson who took the front spot. Hudson looked to have solid lead before the local drivers caught up. Quincy driver Josh Smith motored by Hudson bringing Buck Purtee with him. The three swapped paint and patience for the balance of the race. Hudson and Purtee gave the fans their monies worth which looked at times to be a demo. Purtee would lead a lap or two before Hudson would get back in front . Purtee, the crowd favorite, saw his night go bad after he and Hudson got together putting Purtee into the pits. Hudson led the final laps to take the win. The win made for a happy night for Hudson and his crew. The winner was met on the front chute for photos to a chorus of boos as local fans thought Purtee should have won. Second place went to Jason Atkinson, Ryan Amonett, Chad Pendleton and fifth to Josh Smith. Purtee dropped to 14th in the final rundown.

The VORES Touring Compact Series were also on hand to compete in the Third Annual BJ’s Body Shop Bowl Classic. The 40 lap feature paid $2500.00 to win. Wisconsin driver Kyle Stark won his third straight feature as he clearly had the class covered. Gary Eaton tried his best to pass Stark but came up short. Terry Eaton Jr. was third, David Yoder was fourth and Trent Gossar.

The “Blackford Memorial” for the Noble Armor Coating Late Models. The race (held annually) honors the memory of drivers Buster and Bussie Blackford. A father-son team that dominated local racing saw Bussie pass in 2006 and Buster in 2007. Jim Lewis Jr once again took advantage of the inversion and started on the front row. Lewis fought off several drivers to lead all the way. Along with figuring out the inversion. All the NASCAR broadcasters say that Kyle Busch is the best restarter in racing. Move over Busch ,Lewis is as good as anyone I’ve seen on restarts.. Don Mahaffey Jr was fast qualifier. The dash winner was Cody Robinson. Jacob Muncy and Jason Timmerman were heat winners.

Next week will be the Ed Yoak Memorial 50. The Wooten Modifieds will run a thirty lap main. The CRS Super Trucks will be on hand also, along with the Thunder Cars and Compacts and all will run 50 laps. An added bonus for the fans The Renegade Stocks from Sandusky will also see action. Racing will start at 7.

Shady Bowl Summary 7/25/20

CRA Van Hoy Oil Street Stocks Mid Summer 150 1. Brett Hudson 2.. Jason Atkinson 3. Ryan Amonett 4. Chad Pendleton 5. Josh Smith 6. Josh Poore 7. Jason Mahaffey 8. Brandon Roberts 9. Alan Williams Jr. 10. Jake McElfresh 11. Chandler Little 12. Dallas Frueh 13. Rodney Roush. 14. Buck Purtee 15. Jeremie Wiggins 16. Andrew Teepe 17. Calvin Parham 18. Jake Owens 19. J.J. Schafer 20. Dylan Little 21. Colby Lane 22. Dale Harper 23. Bret Miles Jr. 24. Garrett Adams 25. Jason Drummond 26. Jamie Sites 27. Tyler Mahaffey 28. Trey Gregory

Vores 3RD annual Bj’s Body Shop Bowl Classic

  1. Kyle Stark 2. Gary Eaton Jr. 3. Terry Eaton Jr. 4. David Yoder 5. Trent Gossar 6. Bill Honious 7. Gary Stark 8. Harvey Yoder 9. Kyle Frame 10. Ron Sagers 11. Rodney Sutton 12. BJ Honious 13. Sean Frederick 14. Keith Watson 15. Jeff Vore 16. TJ Fannin 17. Nicholas Meade 18. Aaron Teegarden 19. Jess Drook 20. Steve Vore 21. Justin Brown 22. Tim Cassidy 23. Bo Hoelscher 24. Darek Morris 25. Reuben Fetty 26. Phil Iliff

Noble Armor Coating Late Models: “Blackford 55 Memorial”

Fast qualifier: Don Mahaffey Jr. 13.674

Dash winner Cody Robinson

Heat winners: Jason Timmerman and Jacob Muncy

Blackford 55 lap Memorial 1. Jim Lewis Jr. 2. Ryan Fleming 3. Josh Smith 4. Cody Robinson 5. Matt Parsons 6. Jason Timmerman 7. Don Mahaffey Jr. 8. Bud Perry 9. Greg Winget 10. Curtis Noble 11. Dearl Parsons 12. Tyler Marsh 13. Jacob Muncy 14. Vaughn Young 15. Ralph Harrod 16. Kenny George Jr. 17. Mark Smith 18. Corey Wooten