April 21, 2021               


(Hartford, OH)…After just five events were completed in 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions, Sharon Speedway is anxious to return to a full season of racing in 2021! After a successful open practice that saw over 70 competitors turn out on April 17, the 92nd anniversary season will officially get underway this Saturday night (April 24) featuring ULMS Super Late Models, Hovis Auto & Truck Supply UMP Modifieds, Gibson Insurance Agency Pro Stocks, and the Whelen Econo Mods. Race time is 7 p.m.

The ULMS Late Models will be making their first visit to Sharon since May 2015 when Max Blair picked up his first career ULMS win. Since then, Blair has won three straight championships and now sits at 30 Series wins with his most recent coming at Williams Grove Speedway on March 26. Blair is the current ULMS South Region point leader. Saturday’s event will be the opener for the ULMS North Region. Past ULMS winners at Sharon include Davey Johnson, Mike Knight, Boom Briggs and Blair. Johnson is a 27-time Sharon Super Late Model winner at Sharon, which is second all-time behind Jim Bickerstaff, Sr.

The Super Late Models last appeared at Sharon on August 30, 2019 when Brandon Sheppard won the World of Outlaws-sanctioned event. The WoO will return on August 21 in the only other 2021 appearance by the Super Late Models. 

The open-wheel Modifieds/E-Mods will be under the UMP sanction in 2021. Saturday will be the first of five appearances for the division in 2021. The UMP Mods will be racing for $1,000 to-win. Alan Dellinger is the all-time division’s winner with 87 victories followed by Joel Watson (28 wins), Scott Stiffler (20 wins), Jeff Johnson (18 wins), and Russ Dunn (13 wins). Brian Ruhlman was the 2019 “Bickerstaff Cup” Champion. The last time the Mods appeared weekly at Sharon was 2016 when Joe Gabrielson was the champion.

Gibson Insurance Agency returns to present the Pro Stock division. The competitive division annually attracts the highest weekly stock car counts of any regional speedway. Drivers will again be competing for $700 to-win nightly provided there are 24 or more cars or $500 if under a full field. Drivers will be prepping for the return of the “Steel Valley Pro Stock Nationals” for the Penn-Ohio Series to be held on June 11-12. Curt J. Bish was the 2019 track champion in addition to winning the “Steel Valley Pro Stock Nationals”. Dellinger is also the Stock division’s all-time leading feature winner with 66. 

Rounding out the program will be the Econo Mod division presented by Whelen. The Econo Mods have been a weekly division at Sharon since debuting back in 2010 on the former Friday night program then transitioned into the weekly “Steel Valley Thunder” Saturday night rotation in 2011. There have been eight different champions in 10 years as only Jeremy Double and Steve Haefke have repeated; no champion was crowned in 2020.  Brandon Blackshear, who now competes in the Terry Bowser Excavating RUSH Sprint Car division, still leads the all-time win list at 21 with Haefke, who now lives in Indiana, second at 15.  

There are no Sharon driver entry or registration fees. One-way driver radios are mandatory for all divisions; channel 454.000. AMB/MyLaps transponders are required for all divisions. Rentals are available for $25. If you have yet to register for the 2021 season, please bring the registration form with you completed http://www.sharonspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/RegistrationFormSharon2021.pdf

Pits passes will go on sale at 4 p.m. with grandstands at 5. Drivers meeting will be held at approximately 6 p.m. with warm-ups and group qualifying for the Super Late Models to follow. Heat races will get underway at 7 p.m. 

Grandstand admission for those 14 and over is $15. Patio seating upgrades are just $5 and fan suite seating upgrades are just $20 over the cost of general admission. These can be reserved on race night in the track office. As always, children under 14 and parking are always FREE! Pit passes are $35. As a reminder, coolers nor outside food or beverages are not permitted. 

Tony Stewart’s All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars will make their first of four appearances on Saturday, May 1 racing for $6,000 to-win and will be joined by the RUSH Sportsman Modifieds. Reserved tickets are available https://sharonspeedway.simpletix.com/

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at www.sharonspeedway.com or call 330-772-5481. Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sharonspeedway and follow us on Twitter @sharonspdwy.